Thursday, April 27, 2017

Who The Hell Is Vakill ?

"Vakill (born Donald Mason, March 21, 1975) is rapper from Chicago, Illinois. Vakill is known through his association with Chicago Hip Hop collective The Molemen, and for his literate, witty, punch line-filled lyricism and detailed story-telling.
Vakill debuted as a solo artist in 1995, with the release of a cassette titled "Who's Afraid?". He remained on the local scene throughout the late '90s, making numerous collaborations, and releasing a number of singles, most notably 1996's "Keep the Fame", a collaboration with veteran emcee Percee P and future Chicago Hip Hop star Rhymefest. In following years, Vakill contributed tracks to subsequent releases by the Molemen, with "Final Thought" appearing on the 1997 EP "Below the Ground", "Know the Bidness" appearing on the 1998 EP "Buried Alive", "Urban Legend" appearing on the 2001 album "Chicago City Limits, Vol. 1", and "The Equinox" and "Face Down" appearing on the 2001 album "Ritual of the Molemen". 2001 saw the release of a Vakill compilation titled "Kill Em All", featuring all the tracks from "Who's Afraid?", as well as a number of songs and freestyles recorded throughout the '90s.
Vakill released his long-awaited debut album, "The Darkest Cloud", in 2003 on Molemen Records. The album was produced by Molemen members Panik and Memo, DJ Contakt and Mixx Massacre, and featured the single "End of Days". The album's sharp lyrics and dark production made it a hit with underground fans, and gave the rapper the most exposure of his career. While acclaimed, the album did not reach past rap's underground scene, and failed to produce a significant amount of sales. The rapper returned three years later with his second album, "Worst Fears Confirmed", released in early 2006. The album featured production from the Molemen, as well as appearances from acclaimed lyricists Ras Kass and Royce Da 5'9". The album gave the rapper wider media exposure, leading to features in XXL Magazine and on Vakill was also featured in the Phat Tape section of the November 2006 issue of The Source Magazine, and in its Off The Radar section in the July issue."
Tha Midwest 

Tape - 1995 - Molemen - Photo courtesy of Hakan Dougpark

Tape - 1995 - Molemen - Photo courtesy of Hakan Dougpark

A1 - Amen (Remix)
A2 - Who's Afraid?
A3 - Am I Dope?
B1 - Amen
B2 - Check Me Out
B3 - Somethin' Terrible

From Chicago Reader - January 27th 2006

12" - 2000 - Bronx Science Recordings  


  1. Salut mon pote!
    Check ça quand t’as 2minutes.

  2. wow terrible ! ya moyen de me faire écouter ? ;)